Caf snubs Zimbabwean referees

Sikhumbuzo Moyo Senior Sports Reporter
NO matches at the 2016 African Nations Championship (Chan) will be refereed by a Zimbabwean official after a list of match officials released by continental football governing body Caf deemed them not good enough to handle any game in Rwanda.

Caf selected a total of 34 referees and assistants from 24 countries to officiate in the fourth edition of the tournament for home-based players, which starts in Rwanda on Saturday.

Zimbabwe has three centre referees on the Fifa referees panel, Norman Matemera, Nomore Musundire and new entrant Philani Ncube, as well as six assistant referees.

Ruzive Ruzive was dropped from the Fifa panel following assessments conducted at the end of the 2015 season.

Ruzive came under scrutiny for his interpretations of the rules during the Madagascar-Swaziland Group B decider in the Cosafa tournament in South Africa last year and was subsequently expelled from the tournament following an adverse report by the match commissioner.

Caf select match officials for tournaments based on consistency and performance at the highest level and unfortunately none of the Zimbabwean referees or assistants caught the eye of the governing body’s referees’ chiefs.

However, Zifa doesn’t need to be told by Caf that local refereeing is a joke as its incompetence and lack of credibility is displayed almost every time match officials take to the centre in local league and cup games.

Zifa has to do something quickly to improve match officiating standards for local referees not to continue being ignored for international tournaments.

Chan referees list

Referees: Abid Charef Medh ( Algeria), Bernard Camille (Seychelles), Denis Dembele (Cote d’Ivoire) Ibrahim Nour El Din(Egypt), Daniel Bennet (South Africa), Kordi Med Said (Tunisia), Mohamed H. El Fadil (Sudan), Nampiandraza Hamada (Madagascar), Keita Mahamadou (Mali) Ali Lemghaifry (Mauritania), Malang Diedhiou (Senegal), Zio Ephrem Juste (Burkina Faso), Davies Omweno (Kenya), Hudu Munyemana (Rwanda), Joseph Lamptey (Ghana) Thierry Nkurunziza (Burundi)

Assistant Referees: Mokrane Gourari (Algeria) Ndagijimana Theogene (Rwanda) Mark Ssonko (Uganda), Oamogestse Godisamang (Botswana),Noupue Nouegoue Elvis (Cameroon) Dina Bienvenu (Benin), Serigne Cheikh Toure (Senegal), Ahmed Hossam Taha (Egypt) Tesfagiorghis Berhe (Eritrea), David Laryea (Ghana) Mamady Tere (Guinea), Sullaymane Sosseh (Gambia) Marwa Range (Kenya), Mahamadou Yahaya (Niger) Hensley Petrousse (Seychelles) Khumalo M. Steven (South Africa), Theophile Vinga (Gabon), Nabina Blaise Sebutu (DR Congo)

Pin It