Costa didn’t bite me: Barry

EVERTON midfielder Gareth Barry stated yesterday that Chelsea striker Diego Costa did not bite him during the Merseyside club’s 2-0 FA Cup quarterfinal victory on Saturday. “Seen a lot of talk about the incident involving me and Diego Costa in the game last night,” Barry wrote on the Fanzai app. “For the record Diego did not bite me.”

Costa was shown a second yellow card in the 84th minute of the game at Goodison Park after reacting to a foul from Barry by leaning his head into the Everton midfielder’s face.

He then lowered his mouth to Barry’s neck and made as if to bite him, only to apparently change his mind. The pair ended up embracing.

In a statement released late on Saturday, Chelsea said that Costa had “expressed regret” over the incident, but was adamant that he had not bitten Barry.

“Diego spoke to club officials after the game and expressed regret over his reaction to the challenge from Gareth Barry that led to his red card,” said a Chelsea statement on Twitter.

“But Diego was also very clear that he didn’t bite him at any point during that altercation.”

Barry was himself sent off moments later after being shown a second yellow card for a kick on Cesc Fabregas.

England’s Football Association is awaiting referee Michael Oliver’s assessment of the incident involving Costa and Barry in his report on the game.

Everton prevailed courtesy of a brilliant late brace from former Chelsea striker Romelu Lukaku, taking them into the semifinals. — SuperSport

Pin It