Duane set for 100th Super Rugby game

Cape Town — Stormers captain Duane Vermeulen will play his 100th Super Rugby match when he leads out his team against the Blues at Newlands tomorrow.

It will be Vermeulen’s 80th Super Rugby match for the Stormers, having also played 20 times for the Cheetahs between 2007 and 2008.

The 28-year-old Springbok was earlier this year named as Stormers captain for the 2015 season, with regular skipper Jean de Villiers sidelined with a knee injury.

The Stormers yesterday made just one change to the starting team for their first home match of the 2015 Super Rugby season.

Having opened their campaign with a clinical 29-17 win over the Bulls in Pretoria last weekend, Stormers head coach Allister Coetzee has wisely kept the changes to a minimum.

In an enforced change, however, No4 lock Jean Kleyn misses out with a calf muscle injury, handing a start to fellow young gun and lock-cum-flank Jurie van Vuuren – after the latter came off the bench at Loftus Versfeld.

In a further change to the 23-man squad that played away last Saturday, fit-again Springbok loose forward Siya Kolisi comes in for Van Vuuren in the No 19 shirt.

Tomorrow’s clash kicks off at 17:05.



Stormers: 15. Cheslin Kolbe, 14. Johnny Kotze, 13. Juan de Jongh, 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Dillyn Leyds, 10. Demetri Catrakilis, 9. Nic Groom, 8. Duane Vermeulen (captain), 7. Michael Rhodes, 6. Rynhardt Elstadt, 5. Ruan Botha, 4. Jurie van Vuuren, 3. Vincent Koch, 2. Scarra Ntubeni, 1. Steven Kitshoff

Substitutes: 16. Bongi Mbonambi, 17. Oli Kebble, 18. Wilco Louw, 19. Siya Kolisi, 20. Nizaam Carr, 21. Louis Schreuder, 22. Kurt Coleman, 23. Huw Jones

Blues: 15 Charles Piutau, 14 Ben Lam, 13 Hamish Northcott, 12 Francis Saili, 11 Tevita Li/Lolagi Visinia, 10 Ihaia West, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Jerome Kaino (captain), 7 Brendon O’Connor/Luke Braid/Akira Ioane, 6 Steven Luatua, 5 Hayden Triggs/Patrick Tuipulotu, 4 Josh Bekhuis/Tuipulotu, 3 Angus Ta’avao/Charles Piutau, 2 James Parsons, 1 Tony Woodcock

Substitutes (from): Matt Moulds, Greg Pleasants-Tate, Ofa Tu’ungafasi, Sam Prattley, Charlie Faumuina, Angus Ta’avao, Patrick Tuipulotu/Triggs/Bekhuis, Braid/Iaone/O’Connor, Jamison Gibson-Park, Dan Bowden, Visinia/Li — Sport 24

Pin It