7 more qualify for ZITF Four-Minute Mile semis

10 Apr, 2017 - 00:04 0 Views
7 more qualify for ZITF Four-Minute Mile semis

The Chronicle


Allen Khumalo, Sports Reporter
SEVEN runners qualified for the semi-finals of the ZITF Coca-Cola Four-Minute Mile race during events held at the National Sports Stadium in Harare and White City Stadium in Bulawayo.

This brings to 25 the number of athletes that have now qualified for the semi-finals to be held at White City Stadium on the eve of the final set for the ZITF Main Arena on April 29.

The Coca-Cola Four-Minute Mile is a male competition with a prerequisite qualification time of four minutes 31 seconds. The competition’s qualifiers are held throughout the country and anyone who feels he or she can make the cut is eligible to take part.

In qualifiers held at the National Sports Stadium, Zimbabwe Prisons and Correctional Services’ Point Chanza booked his place in the semi-finals after clocking four minutes 27.31 seconds.

His teammates Paul Mhizha and Jonathan Chinyoka crossed the line in four minutes 28.58 seconds and four minutes 22.84 seconds respectively. Black Rhinos’ Tapiwa Chineka crossed the line in a time of four minutes 18.97 seconds.

The ZRP Fairbridge duo of Blessing Chidziva and Elijah Mabhunu booked their place by clocking four minutes 19.74 seconds and four minutes 26.62 seconds respectively.

The White City Stadium qualifiers saw Isaac Mpofu from ZRP Fairbridge recording four minutes 16 seconds.

Meanwhile, Bulawayo Athletics Board (BAB) chairperson Manuel Mpofu said Harare will hold other qualifiers today, while the next qualifiers will be held in Bulawayo on Independence Day.

Semi-final qualifiers

Phathisa Ngwabi (Hwange Colliery Athletics), Titus Nyathi (Bindura), Titus Nyathi (LM Academy), Thando Maphosa (Sparrows), Caliscious Moyo (LM Academy), Ammon Moyo (Sparrows), Trust Chidomaya (ZRP) Dumo Mkhwananzi (Sparrows), Willard Mutasa (HQ1 Brigade), Nyasha Mutsetse (Independent), Levinson Mapfuwa (Black Rhinos), Trust Hove (Black Rhinos), Tendai Zimuto (Black Rhinos), Blessing Whyson (Black Rhinos), Nomore Wikiri (ZPCS), Nyasha Chiuswa (Amen Avademy), Vareri Wellington (Amen Academy), Bornface Jeki (Black Rhinos), Point Chanza (ZPCS), Paul Mhizha (ZPCS), Jonathan Chinyoka (ZPCS), Tapiwa Chineka (Black Rhinos), Blessing Chidziva (ZRP Fairbridge), Elijah Mabhunu (ZRP Fairbridge), Isaac Mpofu (ZRP Fairbridge).


Share This: