Biti’s party releases names of election contestants

16 May, 2018 - 00:05 0 Views
Biti’s party releases names of election contestants Tendai Biti

The Chronicle

Tendai Biti

Tendai Biti

Nqobile Tshili, Chronicle Correspondent
Mr Tendai Biti’s People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has released names of its candidates to contest in the forthcoming elections under the MDC Alliance banner.

The party is also set to hold primary elections in two constituencies where its candidates failed to reach a consensus and will be charged $100 election administration fee.

PDP secretary general Mr Settlement Chikwinya revealed that the party’s president Mr Tendai Biti will run for Harare East constituency while the party’s deputy Mr Kucaca Phulu is standing for Nkulumane Constituency.

He said the party will hold primary elections in Bulawayo’s Pumula and Masvingo’s Zaka West constituencies.

“Two constituencies are outstanding and these are Zaka West and Pumula. More than one candidate have emerged in these constituencies and as such primary elections become the only democratic route to select a candidate,” said Mr Chikwinya.

Sources said in Pumula former MDC-T MP Albert Mhlanga and Ms Sichelesile Mahlangu will battle it out.

The Chronicle did not get information on candidates contesting the Zaka West constituency. Mr Chikwinya said other candidates to represent the party include Mr Willas Madzimure standing in Kambuzuma, Moses Manyengavana in Makoni North, Mr Maxwell Mdhluri in Chimanimani East while Mr Sam Chabuka will stand in Mutasa South constituency.

Mr Chikwinya will contest in Mbizo constituency while Mr Smart Matutu will run in Gokwe Sesame and Mr Mandla Moyo will contest in Beitbridge West.

Professor Welshman Ncube’s MDC on Sunday released names of its 31 candidates to contest also under the MDC Alliance coalition.


Share This: