Bulawayo dominates Heroes darts competition

11 Aug, 2022 - 00:08 0 Views
Bulawayo dominates Heroes darts competition

The Chronicle

Innocent Kurira, Sports Reporter
BULAWAYO province put up a dominant performance in the men’s doubles events at the National Closed Heroes Darts Competition held at Founders High School during the holidays.

The annual event which is held during the Heroes’ holidays ran from August 4 to 6.

All 10 provinces were expected to take part but Masvingo, Matabeleland North and Mashonaland West failed to turn up.

The Bulawayo duo of Bright Mabuza and Joshua Jabangwe scooped gold in the Open Doubles, beating Salesio Gunda and Othenial Makwara from Manicaland.

In the Closed Doubles, Mgcini Nkala and Garai Simbanegavi won gold after beating Kudzie Nyemba and Tawanda Hodzi of Mashonaland West, who came on his personal capacity.

The event was used as a selection meet for the region five games that will be held in Namibia later this year.

Founders High School

Wayne Mandhlazi and Chando Chenaimoyo made the grade for Namibia in the junior ladies while Tinondiwashe Mabika and  Trust Ncube will be the junior men’s representatives.

Mgcini Nkala and Garai Simbanegavi qualified into the Zimbabwe senior national team.

Also in the national team is Brian Murisa who plays in Botswana and non-travelling substitute Tinashe Chipowera who plays in South Africa. Two veterans were selected, Basil Green playing in Zambia and Peter Mulukulu of Mashonaland East.

The regional championships will see Zimbabwe battle against Botswana, Namibia, Lesotho, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia and Malawi. “We are pleased with the way our Heroes’ competition went. We are happy with how the athletes exhibited their talent in the competition.

It was a good home-up for the coming regional games,” said National Darts Association of Zimbabwe (Ndaz) secretary Lethukuthula Nkomo.

1. Harare province
2. Bulawayo B
3. Bulawayo A
Team Games Ladies
1. Midlands
2. Manicaland
3. Mashonaland Central
Presidential singles men
1. Wonder Machapa (Harare)
2. Modokai Dheka (Harare)
3. Salesio Gunda (Manicaland) — @innocentskizoe

Share This: