Williams drafted to Bangladesh Premier League Sean Williams

Brandon Moyo, Sports Reporter

CHEVRONS Test skipper, Sean Williams has been drafted into next year’s Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) and is set to play for Comilla Victorians.

The players’ draft for the new season of BPL took place on Wednesday. Williams will be one of the three Zimbabweans who will be plying their trade in the Asian country next year.

The other two are Sikandar Raza and Ryan Burl who will be playing for Rangpur Riders and Sylhet Strikers respectively.
Williams however will be no stranger to the BPL having been drafted before to play for the Rangpur Riders in 2019 and the experience in Asia will come in handy for the left handed all-rounder.

At Comilla Victorians, Williams will be joined by other international stars such as Brandon King (West Indies), Mohammad Rizwan (Pakistan), Shaheen Shah Afridi (Pakistan), Hasan Ali (Pakistan) and Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan).

The number eight ranked T20 all-rounder in the world has featured in other franchise leagues apart from the Bangladeshi one, having played in the inaugural Mzansi Super league in 2018 where he turned out for Tshwane Spartans alongside Raza.

In his first stint in the BPL, Williams did not play any matches for his side who were the defending champions and is hopeful he will get the opportunity to play for the defending champions as well who have a strong foreign line up.

Sikandar Razar

The 36-year-old all-rounder said he is excited to have been picked to play in the BPL once again and is looking forward to it as the exposure will come in handy in a sport where the more you play, the better you get.

The tournament is starting in January, the same month that Zimbabwe will be hosting Ireland for a white ball series therefore Williams will join Comilla Victorians after national duty.

Comilla Victorians: Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Rizwan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Hasan Ali, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nabi, Abrar Ahmed, Litton Das, Mosaddek Hossain, Tanvir Islam, Imrul Kayes, Josh Cobb, Ashiqur Zaman, Brandon King, Jaker Ali Anik, Sean Williams, Chadwick Walton, Shykat Ali, Abu Hider Rony, Nayeem Hasan, Mukidul Islam, Mahidul Islam Ankon. – @brandon_malvin.

You Might Also Like