55 athletes in Mat’land swimming team

27 Feb, 2017 - 00:02 0 Views
55 athletes in Mat’land swimming team

The Chronicle


Allen Khumalo, Sports Reporter
THE Matabeleland Swimming Board has selected a team of 55 athletes who will represent the province at the Junior National Championships to be held in Bulawayo from March 18-19.

The team is made up of 26 girls and 29 boys.

Twelve-year-old Codie Selman from Barracudas swimming club will captain the boys’ team while Crusaders’ Timea Schultz (12) will lead the girls’ team.

Matabeleland Swimming Board chairperson Nokuthula Cyprianos believes they have selected the best team that will deliver good results in the junior national championships tournament.

“This is the best talent that we have identified to represent Matabeleland in the national junior championships so I believe they are going to make us proud.

Everyone who made it into the team                                   was selected after reaching their qualifying times in our previous Matabeleland gala competitions so I have no doubt we have outstanding swimmers,” said Cyprianos.

She said they are not expecting easy competitions as athletes will be aiming at breaking and setting new national records.

“Of course we are not expecting an easy walk because the nationals have always been tight. The need to break and set new records has always pushed swimmers to their best performances.

“The team we are sending this year is a larger group compared to last year’s 42 so I believe this is a sign of growth and we hope for more impressive results,” she said.

Matabeleland team

9 and Under girls: Carmen Veldsman (Zambesi Tigers), Kudzai Chapepa (Barracudas Swimming Club), Grace Hensman (Penguins), Kelcy De Swardt (Barracudas), Savannah Smith (SOS), Shumirai Zvenyika (SOS), Chloe Werret (Barracudas)

9 and Under boys: Patrick Duff (SOS), Tinotenda Chiwara (Penguins), Liam Chiksen (Barracudas), Nsikelelo Sibanda (Barracudas), Kundai Chigariro, T Chigagancha (Barracudas)

Under 10 girls: Onye Onovo (Barracudas), Avril Carinus (Zambesi Tigers), Ryley Jardine (SOS), Jordyn Collett (SOS), Olivia Accorsi (SOS), Nozintaba Moyo (Penguins), Makhosazana Nkomazana (Dolphins)

Under 10 boys: Onesimus Ngwenya (Penguins), Kayden Bhana (SOS), Darren Ncube (SOS), Ruan Nel (Crusaders), Mitchell Stanley (Barracudas), Tyler Varley (Zambesi Tigers), Fanuel Zvenyika (SOS), Cameron Rae (Barracudas), Tawanda Jani (Dolphins), Reece Rollo (Crusaders)

Under 11 girls: Chantel Querl (SOS), Jade Chiksen (Barracudas), Jayda Collett (SOS), Caitlin Donell (Zambesi Tigers), Zoe Gangira (Barracudas)

Under 11 boys: Garrick Guff (SOS), Jayden Deswart (Barracudas), Tichatonga Makaya (Penguins), Andile Mhlophe (Penguins), Romeo Kahwema (Penguins), Emmanuel Sibanda, Vidal Bravo (Barracudas)

Under 12 girls: Timea Schultz (Crusaders), Munashe Bera (Barracudas), Erin Bent (Barracudas), Ngosika Onovo (Barracudas), Shannon Cooke (Zambesi Tigers), Neziah Kinnaird (Dolphins), Miriam Maphosa (Petra Academy)

Under 12 boys: Codie Selman (Barracudas), Aidan Waterfall (Crusaders), Dean Jones (Barracudas), Dale Carinus (Zambesi Tigers), Sonny Brebner (Crusaders), Matthew Ellerman (Barracudas)

Team managers: Siobhan Kesson, Megan Nesbitt

Coaches: Demi Mooy, Tara Stirling

Captains: Codie Selamn, Timea Schultz


Share This: