Bulawayo, Harare Provinces dominate Zim U-14 rugby squad Zimbabwe U14 rugby players

Brandon Moyo, [email protected]

BULAWAYO and Harare Metropolitan Provinces contributed a combined 24 players in the 27-member Zimbabwe Under-14 Rugby Craven Week’s 2023 squad.

The squad that includes three non-travelling players was announced on Tuesday night following trials held on Thursday and Friday at Gweru’s Midlands Christian College (MCC).

Harare has 13 players including two non-travelling reserves, Bulawayo has 11 while Mashonaland Country Districts (MCD) has two players and Midlands has one.

CBC rugby teams in camp in Shangani

Under the stewardship of renowned development coach, Ruben Kumpasa, the youngsters are set to travel to South Africa on June 23 for the annual championship that starts the following day.

The tournament will be played at Maritzburg College in Pietermaritzburg and is organised by the South African Schools Rugby Association (SASRA).

In last year’s event, the Junior Sables played five matches and won two.

Kumpasa is confident they will perform better this time around.

“It’s always difficult to play in South Africa as they are a rugby passionate country but we have enough quality to compete. It’s good for the boys to go out there and give it their all and we are looking forward to a good result,” said Kumpasa.

He will be working with Bright Chivandire while Tan Dinhidza is the team’s manager. Ivan Peterson is the team’s physio.

The Craven Week is an annual rugby tournament organised for schoolboys in South Africa and countries like Namibia and Zimbabwe are usually invited. The tournament started in July 1964 and is named after the legendary Springbok rugby player and coach Dr Danie Craven.

Zimbabwe U-14 team: Tavonga Msasanure (Falcon College), Kudekara Chirere (Avondale Primary), Tafara Tapera (CBC), Masimba Katsidzira (Hellenic Academy), Lwandile Maphosa (CBC), Tyler Mkandla (CBC), Curtis Chimuti (Wise Owl Marondera), Tadiwanashe Denga (MCC), Daniel Ellis (Hellenic Academy), Bradley Bunnett (Hellenic Academy), Bongani Chitumbala (Manyewu Primary), David Dombojena (Falcon College), Kwanza Warambwa (Falcon College), Kudakwashe Mavuka (Hellenic Academy), Malachi Buchmann (Hellenic Academy), Mthokozisi Moyo (Falcon College), Antony Ushendibaba (Wise Owl Westgate), Shammah Vhiriri (Eaglesvale), Abraham Jaja (CBC), Ben Lashbrook (Hellenic Academy), Murray Wenham (Falcon College), Dylan Meikle (Falcon College), Eugene Mlotshwa (Hellenic Academy), Anotida Chinembiri (Admiral Tait), Adrian Hunda (Hellenic Academy, non-travelling), Wesley Kasipe (Prince Edward, non-travelling), Tanaka Zvenyika (Wise Owl Marondera, non-travelling).  

— @brandon_malvin

You Might Also Like