Raza named in ODI team of the year Sikandar Raza kisses helmet after reaching his century against India

Brandon Moyo, Sports Reporter
The Zimbabwean all-rounder, Sikandar Raza has again been named in the International Cricket One Day International (ODI) Team of the Year, a confirmation of the huge impact he had on the global cricket last year.

Raza has also made it into ICC’s Twenty20 International Team of the Year.
For the ODI Team of the Year, the Zimbabwean stalwart is part of the 11 international players that impressed with the bat, ball and through their all-round performances throughout the year 2022. Pakistan captain, Babar Azam was chosen as the leader of the ODI Team of the Year.

Raza, a middle batsman and off spin bowler was truly amazing for Zimbabwe in 50 over cricket, helping the side make history in this format of the game.

Sikandar Raza

With the bat, Raza aggregated 645 runs at an average of 49.61 and strike rate of 87.16, making two fifties to complement three centuries, helping the team win a 50 over series for the first time since 2017.

Of the three centuries, two were back-to-back against Bangladesh in Harare where Zimbabwe won their first white ball series since 2017. The Chevrons won 2-1 against the Tigers of Bangladesh in Harare with Raza scoring back-to-back centuries which all came in chases.

He went on to score another gallant hundred (115 runs) in a close 13 runs defeat at the hands of India at Harare Sports Club in August. Raza was also part of the Zimbabwean team that made history, winning their first ODI match against Australia Down Under.

Raza was the first Zimbabwean to win an ICC Player of the Month accolade which he won in August last year.
Teams were identified from selections submitted by the specialist panel of media representatives that make up the ICC Voting Academy.

The panel made their selections based on player performances throughout the calendar year, nominating their one to 11 and choosing a captain and a wicketkeeper for each.

Zimbabwe is represented on the ICC Voting Academy by former national team fast bowler Mpumelelo Mbangwa who is now a renowned international cricket commentator and Chronicle Sports Editor Mehluli Sibanda.

Meanwhile, the 2022/23 Logan Cup encounter between Tuskers and Rhinos ended in a draw after rain interrupted play throughout the day.

Having scored 295 all out in their first innings courtesy of a Milton Shumba hundred, Tuskers saw rain bring the match to a premature end with Rhinos on 146-9. The second innings of the match could not take place neither did play on the final day of the game.

Sikandar Raza

The other match between Mega Market Mountaineers and Eagles at Old Hararians also ended as a draw due to rains that were persistent throughout the four days. Only Mountaineers batted in the match finishing on 316-5 courtesy of a Ben Compton 105 runs before the match was called off.

ICC ODI Team of Year: Babar Azam (Pakistan/captain), Travis Head (Australia), Shai Hope (West Indies), Shreyas Iyer (India), Tom Latham (New Zealand/wicketkeeper), Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe), Mehidy Hasan Miraz (Bangladesh), Alzarri Joseph (West Indies), Mohammed Siraj (India), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Adam Zampa (Australia).
— @brandon_malvin

You Might Also Like