President appoints varsity councils President Mugabe
President Mugabe

President Mugabe

Auxilia Katongomara, Chronicle Reporter
PRESIDENT Mugabe has appointed councils for nine State universities including the National University of Science and Technology (Nust) in Bulawayo as well as the Zimbabwe Council for Higher Education (ZIMCHE) board.

Nust had been operating without a council since its dissolution in November last year and its absence reportedly delayed the appointment of a new vice chancellor.

The university’s last substantive vice chancellor Professor Lindela Ndlovu died in November 2015, weeks after his contract had expired.

In a notice yesterday, the Ministry of Higher and Tertiary Education, Science and Technology Development said President Mugabe had appointed retired diplomat Ambassador Zenzo Nsimbi as the chairman of Nust council replacing Dr Mike Ndubiwa who led the dissolved board.

Other prominent figures that make up the council are city lawyer, Mr Job Sibanda, Bulawayo City Council Director of Engineering Services , Engineer Simela Dube, Zimbabwe International Trade Fair General manager, Mrs Nomathemba Ndlovu, businessman Mr Obert Sibanda, former Bulawayo mayor, Mr Japhet Ndabeni Ncube, outgoing Zimbabwe National Chamber of Commerce Matabeleleland Chapter chairperson, Mr Christopher Mugova and Mimosa Mines chairman Mr Winston Chitando.

Other university council members are Dr Mbongeni Ndlovu, Mr Israel Ndlovu, Mrs Kezinet Ndhlovu, Ms Sithembiso Nyathi, Ms Bridget Chipungu, Reverend Jeffrey Sibanda, Eng Edwin Gwaze, Mrs Josephine Makuvara, Mrs Mildred Mkandla, Mr Casper Ronney, Mr Stephen Nyambuya, Mrs Elizabeth Chikwanda, Ms Fiona Gandiwa Magaya, Mrs Alois Muzuwe, Eng Garfield Nkiwane, Mr Godwin Manyonganise, Reverend Dr Rudo Moyo and Engineer Gratitude Charis.

The President also appointed former Nust Vice chancellor Professor Phenias Makhurane as Gwanda State University council chairman.

The other Gwanda State University council members are Retired judge of the Labour court, Mr Selo Maselo Nare, Zimbabwe International Trade Fair Public Relations Manager Ms Stella Nkomo, retired diplomat Ambassador Dr Aaron  Maboyi-Ncube, FBC Holdings Limited group chairman Mr Hebert Nkala, Bulawayo businesswoman Mrs Ntombenhle Moyo, Zimplow Managing director, Mr Walter Chigwada and Standards Association of Zimbabwe director general Dr Eve Gadzikwa.

CNM-YBJ Consulting engineers Managing Director Engineer Caleb Makwiranzou was appointed chairman of Midlands State University with retired High Court judge, Justice Maphios Cheda deputising him.

Other councils that were appointed are for Bindura University of Science Education (BUSE), Chinhoyi University of Technology (CUT), Marondera University of Agricultural Sciences, Zimbabwe Open University (ZOU), Manicaland State University for Applied Sciences and Harare Institute of Technology (HIT.

President Mugabe also appointed former Midlands State University Vice Chancellor Professor Ngwabi Bhebhe as the chairman for ZIMCHE.

Prof Bhebhe will be deputised by Professor Fanuel Tagwira.

Other members of the ZIMCHE board are Prof Levi Nyagura, Prof Munashe Furusa, Prof Eddie Mwenje Professor Alois Ngara, Prof Kuzvinetsa Dzvimbo and Prof George Payne Kahari among others.

All the appointments are with immediate effect.

The appointment of the councils comes at a time when the Ministry of Higher and Tertiary Education has rolled out a reform process to re-align institutional governance and legislative frameworks, programmes, projects and research plans for industrialisation and modernisation through STEM.


You Might Also Like