Railstars claim darts title


Sports Reporter
RAILSTARS are the 2017 Bulawayo Metropolitan Province Darts League (BMPDL) champions after shrugging off the challenge of Highlanders and Archers.

The rail men whacked Queens Sports Club 32-7 to take their points tally to 18 and claim the title with a superior dart difference over Highlanders, who play their last game of the season tonight.

Bosso, with 17 points from 19 games, will end the season tied on 18 points with Railstars in the event that they beat Zimbabwe School of Mines at the Clubhouse.

Charles Widzisa, Railstars captain said unlike last season when the championship race was a two-team affair between the rail men and eventual champions Archers, this year Highlanders came strongly and gave a good account of themselves.

“The league was a tight contest. Archers were the defending champions and captained by Ernest Sibanda, they were always going to be favourites, but then Highlanders made wise signings at the beginning of the season setting up a strong side that challenged for the title. Bosso roped in experienced former Railstars and Archers kingpins Mgcini Nkala, Albert Tawanda as well as Macloud Chirwa, who guided their campaign,” said Widzisa.

“I believe competition from Archers and Highlanders, as well as the rest of the teams pushed us to work harder and go all the way. The players at Railstars were also hungry for the title, which made it even easier to win the competition.”

Railstars plan to start next season’s preparations early with the aim of assembling a strong team that will defend the title.

“It’s unfortunate that our local league games ended early meaning our players will not play competitive games for three months. This means we have to organise more friendly games during the period and come up with a strong side that will compete at the national Champion of Champions tournament usually held in January or February,” Widzisa said.

Players that were outstanding for Railstars include Patrick Zimidzi, Ndabezinhle Ngwenya and Stephanos Mudhumeni, who are all vying for individual league awards for most wins in the 180s singles.

Tonight: Bellevue v Support Unit, Highlanders v Zimbabwe School of Mines, Khami v Archers, Parkview Khanka v Parkview Lions, Queens Sports Club v How Mine

P     W     L     F     A     Dif     Pts
Railstars     20     18     2     509     261     248     18
Bosso     19     17     2     462     279     183     17
Archers     19     15     4     494     247     247     15
Parkview Lions     18     13     5     423     279     144     13
School of Mines     18     9     9     314     378     -64     9
Support Unit     19     8     11     369     354     15     8
Queens     19     7     12     306     435     -129     7
Khami     18     6     12     295     389     -94     6
Parkview Khanka     19     5     14     304     437     -133     5
How Mine     18     4     14     256     446     -190     4
Bellevue     19     1     18     257     484     -227     1


You Might Also Like